Sign in to follow this  
rdb

Wanting to add tack repairs

Of all the skilled people on this board, the saddlery people are the ones I most repect. I wish I could have been youse guys.

Back a long time ago (35 years), I had a hippy dippy leather shop for 4-5 years making belts, pocketbooks on my old twin needle, vests, etc., occassionally I did some tack repairs for a polo guy at Myopia in Hamilton Ma.; restiching, cleaning, replacing straps. That's the limit of my experience with saddlery.

Now I find myself out of work, and starting up my old leatherwork trade; belts, guitar straps, simple stuff for now. I can't afford a sewing machine again for awhile.

In this rural area of NC, there's not all that much business, so I thought I would add tack repairs into the mix. I am a little leery, because I am not an expert by any means, although there are quite a few horse shops (english and western) around, and the nearest repair is at least an hour away.

If I start off simple and offer a few services It might be okay. Saddle Cleaning, hand stictch repairs, strap replacement, etc.

I am an old man, and Oklahoma Boot and Saddle School is out of the question...so are the $400 DVDs

My questions are:

Should I?

What books can I get for a crash course?

What simple services should I offer?

Any real good advice sources?

Would you guys help me in a pinch?

Should I?

It seems like a good idea to me. Earlier this year I had the leather shop make me a new latigo holder that a buddy broke on my saddle. I had him tool in my brand and some barbwire. Cost me 8 bucks, which he probably didn't make any money on. Course when wife and I went to pick it up she found $120 worth of tack we couldn't live without. Without that repair work we wouldn't of been there to buy the tack. Along the same lines, if you can add some customizing to a repair job, like some tooling on a flank billet for instance, there could be a few extra dollars.

What books can I get for a crash course?