Mike516

Looking For Larger Hand Wheel For Singer 95-10

I was going to do this some time ago but have been doing pretty well with my small business so I kind of got sidetracked a little. I had some notes about doing all this but I can't for the life of me find them.

I want to try and use my Singer 95-10 to sew pig skin to 7/8 oz veg. and make some nice dog collars.

As I'm not an expert sewer by any means, I would like to swap out the original hand wheel for a larger one.

Did they make bigger hand wheels for these old machines, and if so what size should I look for and where might I look for one?

While I'm here asking that question, I may as well make sure I'm going to do this right. I'm thinking of using #92 nylon thread with a #20 needle and work from there. Does that sound right?

Thanks!

You might check with industrial machine dealers in your area. Many of them have old machines lying around to salvage parts from. I was able to get the huge wheel from a junk Singer 29 for five bucks. If either you or a friend can do lathe work, it is easy to make the necessary modifications or adapter bushings to make the wheel fit. I put the model 29 wheel on a 42-5 machine that was missing its wheel.

Edited by Cascabel

Crap, I didn't want to have to do any modifications like that. So they never made bigger hand wheels for these machines? I guess it makes sense. They wanted them to go faster not slower, so making a larger hand wheels probably defeats the purpose.

Personally, I like a large wheel. The inertia of a heavy wheel makes for more power to punch the needle through tough materials while going slow.

You better buy a sewing machine capable of sewing leather and forget the hand wheel.

You can not use a 92 thread on this machine it will not work. The machine was designed to sew around 3500 stitches per minute on light cloth to medium cloth.

Ok, I understand.