E L

Help- Opinions On Fortuna Skiving Machine

Hello all,

I need some advice. I bought a old Fortuna Skiving machine over a year ago which I haven't really used. I'm a newbie, who learned how to skive leather in school, but I never really learned maintenance of the machine, or repairs.

When I bought it I asked around the fabric district in NYC for repairers who could service the machine. A gentleman that normally works on Sewing Machines came in and tried to service the machine for me. The machine can run, but is inconsistent in the thickness it shaves off and often "eats up" the leather. It was at the time missing one of the belts on the inside of the machine.

I have postponed calling him again, as I would prefer someone who is more familiar with skiving machines to come back.

I am wondering considering that I am a casual user/newbie anyone's thoughts on - 1) if they know of any good skiving machine servicers in the NYC area, and 2) perhaps it's better for me to try to sell the machine on eBay or this forum considering that I sew leather somewhat infrequently? I say this, because from what I read on these forums, part replacement on old Fortuna machines sound costly! I have attached a couple of photos of the machine.

Thank you!

post-62528-0-31783300-1432318864_thumb.j

post-62528-0-10848100-1432318953_thumb.j

Try asking at upholstery shops or ask at wholesale leather supply houses. They would both have closer contact with repairmen who work on leather machines than the fabric and fashion crowd do. It may seem weird, but a company that works on old bookmaking equipment may also be able to service it. Books use machines with big sharp knives and stuff and the spines are stitched. The leather covers are often skived to be thin on the sides.

Thanks TinkerTailor!

Anyone: Thoughts about whether it is better for a novice to just sell it? I'm on the fence for sure.

Found this info on another forum ask Fortuna-Service Austria