evaengineer

Question On Head Knife.

So, I'm planning to purchase a head knife, and I saw that they were rather expensive in comparison to the other knives I've been using. Can somebody vouch for their usefulness vs. cost? Also, has a head knife helped anybody else here substantially?

Is this in the correct forum?

Head knives are debated back an forth all the time. Some leatherworkers use them for almost everything and others can not figure out how to use them. If you are not sure, I would recommend you talking directly to someone that likes one and have them show you how it works. DO NOT buy a cheap one, you will just hate it and figure they are all worthless.

Personally, I use mine a little over half of the time. I have other knives too, and depending on what I am cutting I will switch back and forth. My recommendation, as a beginner I would recommend you using a box cutter. They are cheap and relatively easy to use. As you progress, keep your eyes open for a class or the opportunity to talk to an old leatherworker and see how he uses the round knife and go forward from there.

Once you get past the learning curve, they are VERY useful. But as electrathon said, get a good one to start with. All head knives are NOT created equal. I use mine mostly for longer cuts and skiving, as well as squaring ends. I have several of the little click knives, with the snap off blades, and I use those for detail cuts.

The advantage of the head knife really shows when cutting thick pieces of leather, because the arc of the blade puts more edge into the cut. For thinner leather, it just zips through ( if properly sharpened), so some caution must be used to prevent over cutting a line, or running off the leather.

For me, the learning curve was huge, But then, I couldn't do a very good job of sharpening the thing. Finally, I gave it up because it occurred to me that I could afford blades for a number of different utility knives that I had in the garage.