Dan28

Question About Laser Engraving.

First off, I am new to leather crafting. I do have a pretty good resource I can use, as a co-worker has a rather high end laser engraving machine that she mostly used to make etchings into wood frames.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/LaserCraftEngraving?page=1

She can and will engrave leather for me. I'm just curious if anybody knows whether to do it to the veg tan leather before or after the dying process?

The answer is.. YES. ;) I have sandblasted leather before and after. The effect is different, and will depend on what effect you want.

Hog Hunter knife sheath.. blasted AFTER stained. I tried to blast past how deep the stain soaked in.

Leather portfolio.. this is drum died leather. for my wife, a nice subtle look

stained leather.. a piece I blasted BEFORE I stained, it opened up the grain and really took the stain. I also put vinyl decals on from my vinyl cutter and it masked

leather work.. the piece of leather plain as I sand blasted it.. with the decal stuck to it.

the laser burns.. I suspect it'll darken the leather, so may never be able to get a light pattern.

post-50414-0-08970700-1404324079_thumb.j

post-50414-0-85854700-1404324114_thumb.j

post-50414-0-63653700-1404324158_thumb.j

post-50414-0-28825400-1404324200_thumb.j

I concur - the answer is that it can be engraved before and/or after depending on what you're going to do.

on a lot of mine, I laser after I have dyed and finished so that the finish acts as a resist for the color fill I'm doing.

I have my own laser engraver and have used it extensively on leather. I first dye, apply finish and then engrave. See my pictures below of my work:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/159793131/ipad-nexus-kindle-galaxy-tablet-leather?ref=shop_home_feat_1

Just make sure that your friend understands that when you laser engrave leather it really stinks and you need to ventilate properly. The smell permeates everywhere so keep a few cans of Febreeze handy :)

Regards

Khalid