Thong

I Messed Up - Cowboy Holster

I'm fairly new to this leather stuff. I decided to make another(I made one) holster, this time for my Ruger .22 single-action. It was supposed to be a cowboy type holster. Now I'm sure nobody here has done anything like this, but after I cut out the leather, I realized that it was backward for a right-handed person. It would probably work great if I was left-handed. If I sew it with the flesh side out, it would work for a right-handed person. So....is there any way to make the flesh side a bit more presentable?

Thank-you for any responses and suggestions.

No.

But you can build the holster as is and wear it "butt forward" on your right hip. Look at photos of old cavalry holsters and the men wearing them.

Dan

Make it left handed and put it on Craigslist.

I'm fairly new to this leather stuff. I decided to make another(I made one) holster, this time for my Ruger .22 single-action. It was supposed to be a cowboy type holster. Now I'm sure nobody here has done anything like this, but after I cut out the leather, I realized that it was backward for a right-handed person. It would probably work great if I was left-handed. If I sew it with the flesh side out, it would work for a right-handed person. So....is there any way to make the flesh side a bit more presentable?

Thank-you for any responses and suggestions.

I'm assuming it wasn't a simple style like this one...

722680878_yp2RZ-M.jpg

You can try getting an orbital sander after it on the flesh side. Sand it until you get the whole surface looking consistently "suede-ish". Then just build the holster and leave it natural! If you have some really thin leather, you could line it... Only the thin stuff would be on the outside. Otherwise, I might agree with the previous post - make it a cross-draw.