Sign in to follow this  
King's X

Attache Case: Finally done!

For those of you who saw my portfolio case, here is the matching Attache case. I am sssoooo glad it is done. I am a hobbyist at this craft, but because a friend asked, I decided to take this commission. This was my first commission piece and probably my last. I am way to hard on myself. The front panel is the second one and almost the did it again after making two major boos. If you look closely, you will find them. I was not able to "cat scratch" them to cover them up. There is a big reason why the pictures are smal.

Oh, I almost forgot again. My black belt broken, so I made another one for myself. I used an old Tandy craftaid pattern by "Chuck Smith." This was a different type of project and my first belt.

Thanks for lookings. Please critique away, maybe I missed something.

P7183550.JPG

P7183552.JPG

P7183547.JPG

P7183545.JPG

post-6330-1247946357_thumb.jpg

post-6330-1247946378_thumb.jpg

post-6330-1247946403_thumb.jpg

post-6330-1247946623_thumb.jpg

Edited by King's X

Dont it make you feel bad when that happens..........

Well you almost got an A +................

That looks really good IMO. I like the deep contrast you have going on with the floral pattern.

I see that you dyed the background, was wondering on the floral though did you dye some of it or did you use antique?

Yea Luke..beyond mad. I appreciate the A.

As for the process, here is what I usually do.

Case overnight with glass

carve and let dry

Olive Oil and throw it on the back of my truck for a short tanning session.

Dye the background Lt. Brown Fiebing's Oil Dye

Let dry a good day

apply RTC (Bee Natural) finish {really good} and let dry.

Then apply ECO FLO Antique Medium Brown gel

Final coat of Natural wax with soft towel.

The swivel cut areas, just get cased, craved and let it dry.

Apply RTC and make sure it covers well. That's it.