skyblast

Fiebings Pro Oil Dye Vs. Fiebing Regular Dye?

Soon I will be attempting to airbrush my holsters instead to dipping them.

Question: When airbrushing is it better to use pro oil dye or is the regular Fiebings dye ok? Actually for that matter which is a better dye to use....for any application dipping or airbrushing? Does it even matter or is one better than the other for certain things.

Curious. If I do decide to switch.... Feibings professional is so much more expensive!!

Any airbrush advice before I take the plunge? I think that I have all the equipment I need to get started. Now I'm just staring at it kind of nervously trying to work up the nerve to get started.

Thanks

I have no experience with airbrushing so I cannot help you there specifically. But I was told by an expert the differences between the two products. Spirit dye penetrates deeper than oil dye and dries quicker and with a little less odor, but spirit dye can be difficult to control the evenness of coverage especially in browns I noticed. But that is with sponge or daubers, I do not know how it would affect an airbrush in regards to even coverage.

Skyblast;

I too am getting into Airbrushing, mostly on belts & holsters. I use Fiebings Pro Oil and was wondering if it's ok in an Airbrush. By the way, which compressor did you end up with and do you use a "paint booth".

It should be interesting.

Skyblast;

I too am getting into Airbrushing, mostly on belts & holsters. I use Fiebings Pro Oil and was wondering if it's ok in an Airbrush. By the way, which compressor did you end up with and do you use a "paint booth".

It should be interesting.

I ended with the $80 Harbor Freight set up...comes with a compressor. I believe the Pro oil is ok as I already know one guy that is using it. I am wondering if the regular stuff is ok? The pro oil is so expensive.

I made a spray booth out of a cardboard box.

Edited by skyblast