danmc

Type Of Leather For Shoulder Straps And Other Outdoor Straps

Hello,

I'm looking at making some traditional heavy canvas canoe portage packs and am planning on using leather for some shoulder straps as well as some straps that cinch the pack down. The leatherworking aspect of this project I hope should be relatively simple which is good because I'm a total beginner with leather.

The bit I'm feeling unsure about is what sort of leather should I be looking at for this sort of application? For anyone not familiar with portage packs, think short, wide, backpack that can hold quite a bit of camping gear. It *will* be subjected to some rough environments. It will get wet, it will be in the sun, etc. I'll need a handful of 3/4" wide straps that are 8-16" long, probably 12 oz leather. Shoulder straps will be a couple of feet long, ~ 2.5 inches wide, again likely 12 oz leather. There will also be a bunch of small pieces in the 2"x2" range for reinforcement where the straps and buckles attach to the pack. The reinforcements will be hand stitched to the canvas and then the straps rivited on.

I know how to do basic leather hand stitching and that should be all I need for sewing skills (on the leather end). I don't have any real plans for any sort of tooling although if I get really motivitated I may cut out some small oval and carve a logo into it and stitch onto the back.

I'm far more concerned with functionality and durability in the back country than looks.

Anyway, any advice about type of leather (what part of the skin, tanning method, etc) and finishing of the leather (stains, oils, etc) would be most appreciated.

As far as I know, the tandy about an hour away is the only "local" supplier I have (Atlanta area) but I could be wrong.

Thanks

-Dan