Phatdaddy

So, My Techsew 2700 Has Been Shipped

I have received confirmation that my 2700 has been shipped and should be here Monday. I have NO experience with a sewing machine.

Aside from fighting myself to go to work Monday rather than sit home and wait for it, can you pros toss some pointers my way, do's and don'ts etc

I also got thread 100 needles, flatbed attachment and roller guide as well as some spare feet. oil and some bobbins etc.

Thank you,

Kevin

Do's" (for any sewing machine) Thoroughly read your manual! Understand how the machine works, how to wind a bobbin and install, and how tension is adjusted.

Don't get your fingers or thumbs any where near the needle ever. If you need additional pressure near the foot... use a stilletto, chop stick or something like that.

I'm still Jealous!! *sigh* at this point I would take an old Singer Patch machine on a treadle. lol

Be sure to let us know how you like her....

Do hold the top and bottom threads back, with your left hand, before you begin a new stitch line. Failure to do so results in the top thread getting pulled hopelessly around the bobbin case and jamming it, or nested on the bottom of the leather. This usually causes the feed to stop in its tracks and can throw the timing out and filigree the leather.

If you are backtacking to start, hold the threads back until you cross back over the first stitch.

Edited by Wizcrafts

What he said - learnt THAT the hard way LOL

Choo gon' love love love having a machine bud - there are some minor limitations to them like not being able to get tight into some spots due to feet etc, but overall, awesomeness :) :) :0

Congratz!

Welcome to the club Phatdaddy! I've had my 2700 for 5 months now and love it. First bits of advice:

#1 - Do not attempt to adjust the presser foot or thread tensions until you are fairly confident you have a grasp on the process.