Seaphoenix

Brand New To This Leatherworking Thing With Lots Of Questions!

Hello!

I made a post earlier about finding suppliers in Japan - and realize I haven't made any sort of introductory post. I managed to find a shop local in Yokosuka, unfortunately I have not been able to catch it open yet! Argh!

I'm brand new to leather working. I'm 28 and in the Navy stationed at Yokosuka, Japan. My interest in leatherworking actually started in Japan, oddly enough. While on a port call, I traveled to Fukuoka. Wandering around the city, my friend and myself came upon a store devoted to leatherworking. It was, honestly, the first time I'd really seen such a thing. I thought it was incredible, particularly the tooling. Decided that when I got myself back to the states, I'd figure out what I needed to start and give it a go.

So I did. I bought myself a kit from Tandy - the one with their greatest variety of tools - because I had figured that while I knew I wanted to tool, I would probably want to do other things, as well.

I'm sort of glad that I did. The more that I really look into and research leatherworking, the more I really want to learn. I've made some kit items so far, nothing major - but it's given me a chance to play with tooling, at very least. I think I'm slowly starting to get the hang of casing things, and walking my tools. It's a far cry from the painting or illustration I've done before.

The leather bug is quite the addiction! There's so much that I want to do, I just don't know where all to start. The kits are fine for learning how to tool, but I really want to branch out into making my own items.