imstephenjones

Can Anyone Tell Me What Sewing Machine This Is?

I took these as screen shots from a video I was watching of one of my favorite bag makers, Artifact Bags. He does all the work I want to do on this machine, unfortunately there are no shots of the front in any of the videos.

post-37076-0-01867400-1354978609_thumb.p

post-37076-0-92541400-1354978596_thumb.p

I was hoping we had some expert Consew enthusiasts who could help me narrow it down. From the looks of it, it seems to be a Consew 206RB-3. But I could be mistaken! He uses this machine to sew through leather and duck canvas. The canvas, I know, is 14 oz. waxed canvas, and he uses a Horween leather, the type I am unsure of. I'm just getting into the leather market. Also, I'm curious if this is a stock motor he has running on it or if this is definitely an upgrade. Here is the website of his shop: http://artifactbags.com

Maybe someone can lead me in the right direction for the weight and style of the leather used as well?

Cheers! And thank you!

Edited by imstephenjones

Why not just email Artifactbags and ask?

I went to his blog and found out he uses many machines, the Consew, a 7 class Singer, and a cylinder sewing machine. You will need two sewing machines to make his type of bags, it looks like he sews the sides first on the Consew, and then sews the bottom with the cylinder machine. Could you attach the site to his video?

It could be a consew 206rb but it's not a -3. Probably a -1 because it doesn't have the two bolt on plates that the -3 and -5 have on the back of the body.

As for sewing through 14oz of canvas, that's not a problem for this machine.

The motor on it looks like a standard aftermarket servo with a small pulley. The 206RB machines usual come with a fast clutch motor for upholstery. The servos give you better energy efficiency and easier control. The smaller pulley slows down the motor which is also good for control.