Vivaldi

Beginner Needs Help With Sewing Machine

Please help!

I am trying to sew 2-3 ounce chrome tan leather with my wife's Singer Merritt 4530 sewing machine, and the machine makes holes in the leather just fine but does not make any stitiches into the leather. I purchased the universal leather needles and upholstry thread from Handcock Fabrics, and the machine makes perfect stitches with the same needles and thread on regular fabrics. But when I try to sew the leather, the needle goes through the leather just fine but does not make any stitiches. Is it that this machine cannot handle the leather, or is it something about a wrong needle or thread, or something to do with tension? Any ideas are greatly welcomed? I am very new to leatherworking and know very little about sewing machines.

Thanks,

Vivaldi

If the needle and thread in it stitches perfectly on cloth, but not on your chrome tanned leather, it could be related to the pressor foot tension, being too light. Leather is tougher than most fabrics and tends to pull up as the needle rises from the hole. If this happens you will have skipped stitches. Increase the pressor foot tension and try again.

....trying to sew 2-3 ounce chrome tan leather with my wife's Singer Merritt 4530 sewing machine, and the machine makes holes in the leather just fine but does not make any stitiches into the leather. I purchased the universal leather needles and upholstry thread from censored2.gif , and the machine makes perfect stitches with the same needles and thread on regular fabrics. But when I try to sew the leather, the needle goes through the leather just fine but does not make any stitiches. Is it that this machine cannot handle the leather, or is it something about a wrong needle or thread, or something to do with tension? Any ideas are greatly welcomed? I am very new to leatherworking and know very little about sewing machines.

Thanks,

Vivaldi