Sign in to follow this  
BigAlC

Tandy kits done by novice

Hi All

I suppose that this is a case of put up or shut up.

I am an absolute novice and over here in North East England I have very little guidance. God bless the Tandy website.

Here are a couple of Tandy kits that I have completed. Comments would be VERY welcome.

The First is a cig case

Second is a couple of Hip Flasks

And third a Ropers wallet

Tear me to Bits

!!!!!!

DSCF1305w.jpg

DSCF1307w.jpg

DSCF1283aw.jpg

post-155-1158270038_thumb.jpg

post-155-1158270129_thumb.jpg

post-155-1158270191_thumb.jpg

Big Al,

If you're looking for criticism, I don't have much to offer. I think you did a really great job on all of these projects. I've tried my hand at the Tandy kits and can never make them turn out right, so congratulations on your success!

Keep up the good work; it's obvious you have a talent for leathercraft.

Regards, -Alex

Ok,,, lets talk about the Roper Wallet ... and center section leaf on the side opposite the initialed side..

On the upper side of the carved vein the decorative cuts went far enough that they wound up pointing away from the center line of the leaf... on floral carving everything should be contributing to the ' flow' downstem...

Also, decorative cuts should be deep at the beginning and fade out to sharp points at the end ( which is going to be downstem ).... they should be like apostrophe's... where your decorative cuts end I can see the impression of the shape of the swivel knife blade... so you need to be gradually withdrawing it as you near the end of the decorative cut.

I am pretty much against dyeing parts of a project in the first place.. and this one gives a good example of why. When you look at it one of the first things to catch the eye is unusual pattern of black...