Northman

Techsew 2700 Vs Consew 206Rb-5?

Hi, I am fairly new to leatherworking but i have already sold some stuff, and plan on selling more.
So i have decided to purchase a leather sewing machine.
I really make anything and everything but i always use veg-tanned leather, and I always do some stamping.
I often use both skins and leather combined in a project.
I make wallets, quivers, mittens, purses, belts, knife sheaths and any odd stuff people want.
The machine needs to be able to sew two layers of 4mm thick (10 oz?) leather.
Or two layers of 2 mm (5 oz?) leather plus two layers of skin.
I live in sweden and there are no vendors that sells these kind of machines.
I am currently looking at Techsew 2700 and Consew 206RB-5 but i am open for other options.
I´d like to keep it under 2000$ if possible.

I have a consew 206rb and its a great machine. However, the Techsew is a cylinder arm machine, and that is way more versatile for sewing hard to reach places like bags and zippers.

The 2700 is more versatile, however at 20 oz you are pushing the top of the envelope for that machine and the 206RB. Better to bite the bullet now and get a 441 machine like the Cowboy CB 4500 or the Techsew 5100. Later, you might want to get a 2700 and set it up for lite work. However, if you only do lite work under say 3/8", the Techsew 2700 will work out fine.

No guarantees, but no matter what you buy, 441 or 2700, you probably will be able to sell it for more in Sweden than you paid for it.

Art

The 2700 is more versatile, however at 20 oz you are pushing the top of the envelope for that machine and the 206RB. Better to bite the bullet now and get a 441 machine like the Cowboy CB 4500 or the Techsew 5100. Later, you might want to get a 2700 and set it up for lite work. However, if you only do lite work under say 3/8", the Techsew 2700 will work out fine.