Goonhorse

Pigskin And Tooling

Hey everyone! I'm rather embarrassed to even be asking this, because I have very little experience working with leather, but I got this crazy idea that I wanted to make a football for my rabid-football fan boyfriend for his birthday.

I want to do some (hopefully) simple tooling (carving? Is there a difference?) on it, but now I'm not sure if the leather I was planning on getting is compatible with that. This is what I picked out, since I mean, a football should be pigskin.....but it doesn't say veg tanned.

So if that's not what I want, what would you guys suggest.

Also, can you tool/carve leather that thin?

Anyway, if I manage to do this, and the end product even somewhat resembles a football....I might post pictures! :P

Tandy has natural pigskin that they say can be tooled. You can probably find it at Springfield leather or several others as well.

Thanks for the replies!

The football will likely not be used, so durability isn't so much of an issue.

I'm not at all against using cowhide if that would be a cheaper option. Is there anything you guys would suggest? How thick does leather need to be, to be carved?

Thankfully I do have a close friend that has quite a bit of experience with working with leather, and she said she has plenty of scraps I can practice on! Also thankfully, his birthday isn't until May! :D