ARamcharan

Leatherworking Supply Carrier Bag

Hello, I'm pretty new to leatherworking, been at it for less than a year now. Currently, I'm carrying my equipment and display pieces around in little plastic bags and am not very proud of that. I've been looking around for a bag that I could make that would have some slots for my stamps, mallet, and other tools, some pockets to keep some 3" rounds I use to display my tooling patterns for people, and large enough to hold a few belt blanks, dye, and other miscellaneous stuff. I was thinking about using 4-5 oz. veg tanned with some bag stiffener to hold it up. I was thinking that so I could also use the bag itself to advertise and show off my ability to potential customers.

If anyone has ideas where I could get a pattern or make one myself, it would be much appreciated!

thanks

I'm currently in the process of making a carrying case for my stamps, based on the "simplified carrying case for leathercraft stamping tools" found in Volume One of the Art of Making Leather Cases by Al Stohlman, but with a better handle, something like what is shown in Volume Two. The case is more-or less a bottomless leather case that attaches to either a homemade tool block or can be modified to fit the wood tool rack sold by Tandy. The tool rack/block forms the bottom of the case is held in place with heavy-duty snaps--half of the snap is screwed into the wood near the bottom, while the other half of the snap is set into the leather side. The case shown in the book only uses four snaps, but I think I will use at least six.

Thanks, I'll have to check it out!