Glendon

Leatherwork Business Names

I am in the very early stages of working up a leatherwork business plan. The basic idea is to take a few designs I have been working up for the disability community, such as wheelchair backpacks, crutch pouches, and sling bags, and turn it into a social enterprise. Basically take teens with mild to moderate disabilities and give them an internship that exposes them to craft skills, basic business skills, and social skills, while turning out real products. What can I say, I'm a social worker by training. My ideas get a little grand. If this actually gets off the ground, it will probobly start out with me selling a couple products a week to finance a few basic leathercraft classes.

Anyway, while I was futzing with this, I started thinking about business names. I was thinking about something simple like "Familyname" Leatherworks. Nice and traditional which is a feel I'm going for, but a bit long. My experience is with non-profits and their descriptive but unapproachable sounding names. I want to try for a busniness that people actually want to you know, do business with, not a social service provider that makes people think "such a good cause" as they promptly forget it exists.

For those of you who sell under a company name, how did the name come about? For everyone else, what kind of names come to mind when you think of a good general leather goods business? I have a couple ideas I'm leaning towards, but I don't want to post them here and risk the domain name being snatched up. Part of it is a short family name that will be dying out when a cousin of mine goes and I wouldn't want to lose it.

Edited by Glendon

I know the feeling. Sometimes it's tough to come up with a catchy short name that won't take half a day to type in the web browser.

Some things to think about are