PJ234

Gun belt hand stitching...is there an easy way to do it?

Hello,

I'm a newbie hobby leather maker (made a few knife sheaths and holsters so far) and I've been thinking of trying to make myself a nice heavy gun belt. Is it possible to hand stitch a belt? I'm thinking about how long and fumbly the thread is at the beginning of something small like just a knife sheath, so I think my thread would have to be 30 ft long to stitch all the way around a belt. Is there a trick to stitching a belt that makes it easier or more practical to do by hand?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Hand-stitching a belt is a major undertaking, sir. After you do one I doubt that you will want to do another. I hope that you are doing it for yourself, because no one will pay you enough to do one for sale.

Best regards.

Yes, it would be for me and I have lots of time on my hands currently so that's not a big problem. One thought I had was to stitch it in sections using several shorter starting pieces of thread and over/back stitching where the sections meet. This would be easier to handle, but would it make a big difference in the strength or appearance of the finished product?

Thanks for the input.

Hi PJ

First of all, no, there's no easy way. (well, there is, but it's called a sewing machine :) ) And you've got the right idea with the shorter lengths of thread. If you don't do that, you'll end up with grief that you don't want. I've heard of folks actually inadvertantly strangling a housepet while trying to pull 30 ft of thread thru a belt!!! pulling all that thread thru all those holes just isn't a happy deal. it wears the thread out before you can get it all sewn in... But, like I said, it sounds like you've got the right idea! Happy stitching! :)

Kevin@springfieldleather.com