Sign in to follow this  
kc8290

Burnished Belt Edges Are Fraying

Hello All. I'm fairly new at leather working. Lately I've tried to make several belts and I am having problems with the burnished edges fraying shortly after I complete the belt. When I complete the burnishing the edges are round, smooth and shinny but after a little use the edges begin to fray especially around the buckle. I don't know if this is normal, or if it is the quality of the leather or my process. Or all of the above.

The method I'm using is; 1) Bevel edge with #3 edger. 2) Gum Tragacanth ,3) Burnish with a burnisher I made. 4? Then Edge Kote. ). I cut the belt width about 1/8" less than the buckle width to minimize the belt rubbing again the buckle. I'm using 8-10 oz skirting leather, utility grade from Wicket and Craig.

I also have tried Bob Park's great process and had the same result. Looks great after completion but does not last. I only tried this method once.

The burnisher is a shaft arbor with leather washers mounted on a motor (see pic) post-15617-039333300 1286989463_thumb.jp

Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong would be helpful.

Thank you.

Ken

Hello All. I'm fairly new at leather working. Lately I've tried to make several belts and I am having problems with the burnished edges fraying shortly after I complete the belt. When I complete the burnishing the edges are round, smooth and shinny but after a little use the edges begin to fray especially around the buckle. I don't know if this is normal, or if it is the quality of the leather or my process. Or all of the above.

The method I'm using is; 1) Bevel edge with #3 edger. 2) Gum Tragacanth ,3) Burnish with a burnisher I made. 4? Then Edge Kote. ). I cut the belt width about 1/8" less than the buckle width to minimize the belt rubbing again the buckle. I'm using 8-10 oz skirting leather, utility grade from Wicket and Craig.