Larry

Leather turning black when cased?

I just started my Tom Threepersons style holster and when I cased the leather, it turned black. Mostly spots on the grain side, but some also on the flesh side. The more it dries the more black gunk it has show up on it. I know with all your experience, you would know what this is. Also, what do I do about it? It's not the top of the line leather as I am new to leather crafting and still honing my skills. It's Tandy's veg. tanned single shoulder 6-7 ounce. Thanks everyone. Larry

Mold.jpg

I just started my Tom Threepersons style holster and when I cased the leather, it turned black. Mostly spots on the grain side, but some also on the flesh side. The more it dries the more black gunk it has show up on it. I know with all your experience, you would know what this is. Also, what do I do about it? It's not the top of the line leather as I am new to leather crafting and still honing my skills. It's Tandy's veg. tanned single shoulder 6-7 ounce. Thanks everyone. Larry

Mold.jpg

Do you by any chance have hard water ie: a lot of iron, in your area. If you do this could be the problem. Any contact between ferrous material and wet leather will turn the leather black due to a reaction with the tannins in the leather. Same way that vinegaroon works to color leather. Just a thought.

Do you by any chance have hard water ie: a lot of iron, in your area. If you do this could be the problem. Any contact between ferrous material and wet leather will turn the leather black due to a reaction with the tannins in the leather. Same way that vinegaroon works to color leather. Just a thought.

I agree with Denster.