Red Cent

Fixing By Hand The End And Beginning Of A Machine Stitch

I am new to the leather craft scene. I bought a Cobra 4 and finally I have it dialed in. However, I do not like the "two forward, one back" lockstitch routine. It does not look good. Can/will someone describe how to "finish" the begining and end of a line of stitches with a machine? I have watched the saddle stitch and others but I don't see it applied to the situation.

Scene: You have an 8-9 ounce outer and a 4-5 ounce liner. You have cut, glued, sanded, and ready to sew. Instead of a forward and back lockstitch lockstitch, can one simply sew the required area and take the "tails" of the threads and, by hand, secure the stitches by hand on each end of the stitch line?

When I start a stitch:

I back stitch 3 stitches (4 holes) and begin sewing.

When I end:

I back stitch 3 stitches.

I do this hand stitching and machine stitching.

What you describe is pretty much what I usually do. I don't like the standard "backstitch" either, having seen them come undone (though usually with light threads). Even with this "backtak" thing. So, I generally put 2-3 'saddle' stitches at each end of the project (assuming there are two ends, not meeting back whre I started). Looks nicer, and for a few minutes of my time I have piece of mind that if the first one doesn't come loose, then the 2nd and so on won't either.

Not misspelled, I really mean PIECE of my mind....

I leave the tails long on the needle and bobbin at the start and stopping point. I sew over top of where I started where applicable, and back stitch a couple of stitches. Then I use a sharp awl on the backside and pull the top threads through the back and tie them off and melt them. This wont be helpful if youre doing something where both side are visible of course, but its a strong fix without a bunch of ugly on the top side.

Chuck

I use this method as well sometimes. I then tie a reef knot in the threads and pull really tight. Cut ends and melt.