Sign in to follow this  
Amoeba

How Do I Make This, And What Is It Called?

Hello there! This is my first post, so please forgive me if I have broken any rules. If I have, I apologise in advance, please let me know what I've done wrong.

Anyhow, the subject of my enquiry is this:

Military Fix Type Closure

My interest is the closure method. It is described as a 'Military Fix Type Closure'

I have scoured the internet and my books on leatherwork, but to no avail. I don't even know what it's called, apart from their description given above. I have had some ideas as to how to make it, but since I am new to leatherwork, I'm sure you people with much more knowledge and experience would be able to set me on the right path.

Essentially, I would like to know what it's called; ways to make it; its advantages and disadvantages; where to find-out more and so-on.

Thanks,

Chris

Hello there! This is my first post, so please forgive me if I have broken any rules. If I have, I apologise in advance, please let me know what I've done wrong.

Anyhow, the subject of my enquiry is this:

Military Fix Type Closure

My interest is the closure method. It is described as a 'Military Fix Type Closure'

I have scoured the internet and my books on leatherwork, but to no avail. I don't even know what it's called, apart from their description given above. I have had some ideas as to how to make it, but since I am new to leatherwork, I'm sure you people with much more knowledge and experience would be able to set me on the right path.

Essentially, I would like to know what it's called; ways to make it; its advantages and disadvantages; where to find-out more and so-on.

Thanks,

Chris

Hi Chris,

I think what you are searching for is a strap or handle loop

You can find something similar in the Ohiotravelbag Katalog on page 37

OTB Catalog

But I am pretty sure you can also find this kind of hardware also in the UK.