Iron Pounder

General Tooling Anyone Just Use Bevelers Instead Of Swivel Knife

Does anyone just use different size and shape bevelers instead of cutting the outline with a swivel knife? I've made a few bevelers but haven't hit on anything I really like as well as the backgrounders I made. My work looks smoother with just bevelers than if I cut in the outline and my thought has been the cuts would weaken the leather and provide water traps. I don't know as I'm self taught, coming for blacksmithing and woodworking. Most of the work I have done to data has been for the motorcycle industry (outdoor). I'm getting ready to do an inlay for a rocking chair so it will remain indoors.

Anyone have an idea of how to cut the inlay(6oz leather) to fit and not have it shrink? Only thing I can think of is cut it oversize to start off and trim to final size when dry but then I couldn't really the edge. Haven't tried an inlay before so this will be a challenge.

My first thought would be do whatever you like as long as it looks cool. Everyone has there own style and special techniques. Post a picture or two in the "Critique" section to get some good input.

I have seen a couple people say there was no need to cut. Even heard one Tandy manager teach this (it was because he really did not know how to tool).

Bottom line is, if you do not cut first your tooling comes out shallow and less defined.

Aaron

FINALLY.... somebody has said it right! Thanks Aaron

I have seen a couple people say there was no need to cut. Even heard one Tandy manager teach this (it was because he really did not know how to tool).

Bottom line is, if you do not cut first your tooling comes out shallow and less defined.

Aaron