chriscraft

When To Use The Beveler?

Hi, I just started leather carving/tooling two days ago as soon as my new BK tools arrived in the mail.

The local Tandy shop personal doesnt tool leather so she was unable to answer my questions but recomended some of the Tandy books. My Grandfather was into this craft and left me some vintage late 50's Craftools & old Craftaide patterns for wallets/belts along with a bunch of rivets and snaps. I still need to pick up the rest of my Grandfather's old literature as I feel it's the same vintage as what Tandy offers today. Would prefer some newer Leather Tooling/Carving books if anyone has any good recomendations.

I'm a self taught artist so I decided to just dive into this craft and will be starting with custom work belts & suspenders. I plan to give away my first samples, at least till I improve.

Most of the tooling pictures i've seen here are not close up and I can't tell when the beveler is used when using the backgrounder or matter. So my question is, When using a backgrounder or Matter, Do I bevel my swivel cuts first? Chris

attatched is a picture of a freehand swivel knife cut skull using the new stainless steel Craftool-Pro with 1/4" angle blade on a scrap veg tan 7/8 oz. piece. I used the BK checked #0,#2 beveler then used a HideCrafter pebble matter.

post-38453-0-47734500-1359392930_thumb.j

post-38453-0-59682500-1359392934_thumb.j

yes, for the most part you'll want to start with the beveler. This puts your background into relief and gives the artwork the 3d appearance.