JamesR

Linen thread

I am new to this site so let me say "Greetings to all."

I am an amateur leatherworker and would like to get better at hand stitching.

So far I have only used synthetic threads. I see that many of you use linen. Could someone tell me what are the objective reasons for using linen. I understand it can rot, but so can the leather. I would like to just buy a large roll of 5 cord (that is another question) and be done with it. I make quivers, knife sheaths, armguards. Any advice as to the pros and cons of linen would be most appreciated. Thank You.

Jim

Quickuns off the top of my head.

Linen is a natural fibre and not subject to sunlight degredation like a lot of synthetics.

It is stronger when wet as the natural fibres swell up. Ever tried to undo a knot in a wet rope.

When hand stitching you need to get a nice long taper on the end of your thread so that when you wax it and place a needle on the end your not left with a bump behind the needle forcing you to use pliers every stitch. This taper can be made by scraping a knife blade over the end of the thread. You will then see fibres being pulled off. When waxed you have this tapered thread.

Linen Does not stretch. The stitches pull up tight and stay tight.

Linen is twice as strong as cotton.

Barra

Edited by barra

I would totally endorse Barra's comments, and just add another thought.

A problem with synthetic threads is their strength! There is a danger that they can be pulled up so tight that the stitch cuts through the leather like a cheese-wire, and overtightening can also cause 'rippling' along the stitch line.

Using a natural fibre tends to teach a gentler touch, without compromising the strength of the finished product.

I would totally endorse Barra's comments, and just add another thought.