Geebe

2/3 Oz Leather Side?

I am just starting out and have a couple small pieces of 8/9oz veg tan leathers, probably enough to make a couple of sheaths.

I would like to make some wallets and that sort of thing. Tandy Europe are doing a deal on 2/3oz 'Oak-Leaf 'sides. My question is: How useful is 2/3oz leather? I was thinking it could be an economical way to get some practice or is it too thin?

Thanks!

Depending on the style of wallet you intend to make 2/3 oz will work.

Hi, thanks for the reply.

To start with I was thinking of the 4 slot bifold as uploaded by ducjes here:

After that, who knows? :-)

I normally use 2/3 oz leather for lining, it will work for a wallet but will be somewhat "soft", it also won't be very good for carving and tooling, you can tool it but have to be careful you don't punch through it. For wallets I normally use 4/5 oz leather leaning toward the 4oz as much as possible. If you wanted a little more solid wallet you could always laminate two pieces of the 2/3 oz together flesh to flesh that would make the leather more in the 4/6 oz area. Then use the 2/3 oz to make the pockets.

I keep a side of 2/3 in the shop, it's useful for some things but like I said, I mostly line things with it.

Chief

Hi Chief,

Thanks for the reply. You have pretty much confirmed what I was thinking. Maybe a full side of it would be a bit too much for me right now.

I just got big side (10' long)Tandy on sale for $69, black chrome tanned 2-3 oz, making 4 slot wallet.

will work good for bags and lining

Wow. And I thought €100 was a good deal! :bawling:

Hey There