jan3ll3

Hey From The Gulf Coast Of Sarasota, Fl!

Hello from the gulf coast in Sarasota, Florida! I'm so excited to finally have joined this group after such a long time ~ My name's Janelle & I'm a leather sculptor for a little over 10 years (:

Some of you may recognize my work from Sheridan, WY at the World Leather Debut or the Leather Crafter's Journal which I've written for a few times... My specialty is leather wet-forming and kinetic sculpture, particularly of articulated skeletons- mostly dinosaurs!! I'm obsessed with my work as I imagine most of you are, too- so it's gonna be a lot of fun to be able to talk with other leather worker friends on here and get some critiques & advice, which is great to have access to. I graduated from Ringling School of Art & Design in 2005 with a bfa in illustration and also studied metal sculpture & digital design. After many weird art jobs over the years which took me all over the country & Canada, I now make leather dino skeletons which sortof combos all of what I have learned- and it's been really fun (: !!

I was real scared when I travelled to Wyoming to compete in the leathershow for the first time- but then I couldn't believe I placed 1st in untooled items for the World Leather Debut, and ever since then I've had the drive to keep on creating new models & even miniature ones. Last year I taught a workshop in Sheridan for Skelosaurz, mini leather dino kits and since have been working further on producing leather wet forming kits for others to enjoy. (below are Skelosaurz, mini dino wet-forming kits)

4dinossml_zpsnjcyaglx.jpg

I look forward to learning more in these forums from the masters of the craft; especially since I never got the real training that some luckier carvers got who grew up learning how to manipulate leather.

I'm originally from St. Louis, Mo and now live in the gulf... an awesome place for fossil hunting on the beaches & mojitos (: lol