Newbie here - new to the forums and new to working with leather. I just completed (nearly) my first pair of sandals. I'm still waiting on an order of sole material to stick to the bottoms to make them wear longer, but they're wearable for now. I've learned quite a bit while working on these, so I'm excited about starting on the next pair to see if I can improve the look and the speed of construction.

Sarah aka Hawah

post-53125-0-93978300-1403484783_thumb.j

post-53125-0-22373100-1403484785_thumb.j

post-53125-0-44019300-1403484786_thumb.j

Cool, I like the multi-colored thread. Oregon leather in Portland has sole material, but sometimes they do not like to sell shoe parts to non-cobblers.

Every time I see that multi colored thread, I think "NIce, but where could you use the stuff??" Now I know ! Very nice, I too really like the multicolored thread.

Fun! I was thinking of making something similar soon.

Really nice project, and first time out of the gate too ! Well done !

I thought my wife was gonna climb all over the screen looking at these.

Now I'll more than likely have to set aside all else, to see if I can come up with a pair for her, she liked them that much !

But then she is a Sandal lover too, but especially in summer months. Thank you for showing us.

Thank you for the kind comments, everyone. :)

I have been trying to get instructions on the measureing for a pair for my daughter for a while now. I know it doesn't look like a difficult project, but I hate to do things "less" than they should be done. Any input from shoemakers out there? What is THE very best construction and fit instruction available. Why can some get away with cahrging $200 for a pair of sandals. They must be GREAT.