Sign in to follow this  
drew23

Introduction And Pic To Share

My name is Justin I am from Monticello, KY and have been lurking around for a while. I currently have a kit from Tandy as well as a few extra odds and ends. Here is my first real piece. I know that I have some issues with the background as well as my letters. I need practice with the swivel knife, i used an Exacto to cut these since I am not used to the swivel knife yet. Comments would be appreciated. Second is how I am planning to finish. Fiebings USMC black with Folkart acrylic red. What should I finish off with? Super Sheen, Lacquer, something else?

Thanks,

Justin

post-18114-081114000 1294592742_thumb.jp

post-18114-013759300 1294592758_thumb.jp

Justin,

Nice start. It looked like you changed tools in doing the "F" so the mix of the bevel patter and the background tool don't exactly fit together. Sometimes it is better to take the back ground patter all the way up to the figure, in this case the edge of the F. Unless of course that was the visual affect you wanted. It is, after all, up to the artist.