daveydude

Newbie - My First Items

Hey folks - just started making stuff in leather & wanted to show my first attempts. I've had lots of experience making LARP weapons over the years but never really ventured into leather so much, so figured I'd give it a go.

The bracers were my first ever go at tooling, and while they're far from perfect I learned a lot while doing them - mainly that my bevelling tool wasn't right for the job. I've since acquired a new set of bevellers with lovely sharp edges which give a much cleaner finish, and I've learned that modelling spoons are awesome for cleaning up tool marks.

Second project was the gorget, for which I used a pattern found online: http://homepages.par...ent/sca/gorget/

I think it was intended to be made in metal with a foam liner, but I used a fairly heavy veg tan & really struggled with the joints. I would have preferred to stitch them rather than use rivets but couldn't quite figure out how to do that.

I also have a work in progress - one of Tom Banwell's "Ronin" respirators for which he kindly provides a pattern. I'm doing this in the same leather I used on the bracers & finding it great for sewing. No idea what I'll use it for, but I'm really enjoying making it, which is reason enough I guess :)

Enough talk, other than to say this forum is amazing!

post-22869-055298200 1309732030_thumb.jp

post-22869-028268300 1309732045_thumb.jp

post-22869-095847100 1309732062_thumb.jp

The bracers, is there foam under the black garment leather?

The bracers, is there foam under the black garment leather?

The black leather is wrapped around a piece of the same leather & glued down at the back.

Excellent work for your first attempts. Keep it up with the tooling, I think you're on the right track. I love the rugged look even if it is a by-product of your learning the craft. Again, great job!

Those are going to look incredible on the battlefield or in court.