Snakebyte

Newbie in Michigan. Need help with holster

I am new to the site, and have found enough info to give me a headache! :coffeecomp:

I am really excited about trying this, and really want to focus on holsters and sheaths. I have read a ot of this site, and am still having trouble grasping the pattern making, leather choices, and basic tool requirements.

Any help(or kick in the pants in the right direction) is greatly appreciated.

I would like to make a pancake style holster(eventually inlayed with exotic of some sort, but want to practice on the basics first)

What leather is best? Where can I get it? remember it needs to be dumbed down, I am still new at this :) (or at leats decent, Keep in mind that I have very little play money)

Are there any hand tools that are better for stitching?

What cement is best?

Thread type?

Thanks for any tips, and advice.

A little background on me:

I live in Brighton, MI and have been doing retail for the last 4 years. I have always loved firearms, and shoot regularly. I started the beginning of this year doing Armed Protection as well, and have a desire to make better concealment and duty gear for myself. I am a certified computer technician, and have my own small business selling gun parts, holsters, duty gear, pepper spray, surveillance gear, etc.

Thanks! :blahblahblah:

Edited by Snakebyte

Welcome to the forum.

Start by reading all the posts in this section and asking a bunch of questions.

Suggestions...

1. Don't stitch to close to the gun/form because we have all thrown out holsters that were too tight.

2. Start with a half a shoulder and determine what types of holsters your interested in making.

3. Hand stitching is much harder than rectangle 1 and 3 tang punches for making stitching holes and getting straight stitching lines with a plastic mallet/hammer. The all in one stitching awls are not a good solution IMHO.

4. Dyeing and top coats use scrap leather to try different things.