andyb

My First Real Project - A Messenger Bag

I have made a few small projects (like a pocket watch holder to wear on a belt and some other very small items), but this is the first project I have ever attempted with more than a couple of dollars worth of leather. It came out exactly like I envisioned it, but my vision at this point is limited, since I am a leatherworking newbie. I really need to start learning how to do carving and stamping, as there are some beautiful examples posted here by others.

I had the bag partially sewn, and decided it was too long, so I cut it apart and shortened it by a few inches. It didn't affect anything, just took me more time, and I ended up using the cutoffs as the strap guides and some other items, so none went to waste. It is Craftsman 8-9 oz veg tanned tooling leather from Tandy, and all hand stitched because I don't have a sewing machine that would work to do this. I still have to soften the leather a bit and use it to give it a bit more worn appearance, but it came out pretty good.

post-7975-099046600 1330895957_thumb.jpg

post-7975-013225500 1330895982_thumb.jpg

post-7975-033372200 1330895997_thumb.jpg

The one tip I would be interested in, is how to soften the leather. I know veg tanned stuff isn't going to be as soft as other types, but any amount of softness would be good.

EDIT: I forgot to add, one half of the shoulder strap is a section of military sling. I liked how the hooks for adjusting the length worked, so I used the sling instead of pulling the hooks off of it.

Andy B.

Edited by andyb

Nice looking bag....I especially like the hooks.

That looks very nice! I really like the hooks, too! As for softening it up, just use a little extra virgin olive oil, mink oil or neatsfoot oil and work it into the leather and you should find that it softens up and becomes more pliable.

really nice, particularly since it's your first.