Sign in to follow this  
mishka

Newbie Needs Some Help

Hello everyone,

im new to this forum and hope to find some advise.

I wan to make a mag pouch for double stack mags ( want to use them for competition). Need advise on what type of leather i should use and any templates or techiniques to implement.

I have some experience in making hand stiched leather watch straps and i hope i can utilize my skills on this project.

Down the road plan on getting into holster making, but for now just want to start with mag pouch.

Thanks

Mishka,

Shoulders work best for any kind of boning or molding which would be involved in the mag or holster designs. When I design a holster or mag holder, I usually sit down with pen and paper, cardboard and patience!!!! I would thing that mag holders would prolly be best made of 7, 8 or 9 oz. material. Not sure what is required with the competition rules but you may need some #24 snaps and a snap setter. I make holsters and everything I do is hand sewn the saddle stitch and 9 cord thread. The thread is quite heavy but it lends to the design and beauty of the product, in my opinion. You can use the "search" part of the site and I recall a few designs that were posted. There a a lot of guys and gals on here that have a ton of helpful information to get you going. Semper-fi Mike

I made a double mag holder once for my double stacked mags. It turned out OK, but not great. Because of the varying thickness of the mags, it didn't come out looking like I thought it would. The mags weren't lined up properly because of the way the leather formed around them. I haven't made a double one since.

Hello everyone,

im new to this forum and hope to find some advise.

I wan to make a mag pouch for double stack mags ( want to use them for competition). Need advise on what type of leather i should use and any templates or techiniques to implement.