filluptieu

Advice on a new idea with the Cue cases I am making

Ive been building cases for about 3 months now and have completed 3. Its an envelop style and I want to change it to an enclosed case.

364625511.jpg

364625479.jpg

Now the thing is that I dont want to directly copy Mr Jack Justis, even though I love his cases and want to make a Tribute case.

I have this as an idea and was wondering if you guys think its a good idea or a bad one.

Its basically a enclosed case with two main pieces for the body and two thin strips for the connecting pieces. I want to have this on both sides of the case.

371325903.jpg

Also whats the best/ easier way to set the rivets if I do it this way, THANKS FOR ALL THE ADVICE IN ADVANCE!

Not sure if this will help but for doing the rivets I would take and make two V notched stands say out of 2x6's or something similer. Then take a longer round post that will be about 4" longer on each side then the case your building so you can slip the cue case over the post then set it in the V notched stands so that they support it at both ends.

If you wanna get really intricate get the post leveled off on one side to give you about a 2" flat on one side the entire length then attach a flat piece of aluminum or steel, you can get the 1" wide pieces at lowes or home depot for a decent price. Or even try metal shops may be cheaper. Attach this metal strip to the flat portion that you have made.

Now you could put your rivets in, slide it into your jig and hammer away.

Just a thought. May not work as I have thought lol.

The best way to do this is to make your holes just big enough to put your post rivets into on the under piece so that they will stay in place. Do one side then the other, don't try to do both sides at once.

Now set your rivets with the open leather laying flat.