Sixer

These Edges Are Driving Me Crazy!

Ok, so I've read all of the stickys and tutorials on burnishing... but for the life of me, I cannot get that smooth, slick, rounded edge on my holsters.

Here is my current approach -

- cut the leather with shears

- 60 grit sanding drum in a drill press to even the edges

- bevel the edges with a #3 or #4 beveler

- follow up with 220gr sand paper and then some 800gr

- dye the leather

- burnish the edges using a wooden dowel chucked in the drill press and Edge Kote or Gum Trag

(this is where my problems start... I've got the drill running at approx. 3000rpm and I try to burnish the edges in the same direction that they were sanded. )

I can do this all day... the edges end up flat and I still can't get all the little fibers to lay down. I've got to be doing something wrong. It's driving me nuts!

I will try and get som pictures up soon, but until then any advice is welcome :)

i am just a novice and someone with more knowledge will correct me if i'm wrong but i think the edge kote is used as an alternative to burnishing, not part of that process. never used/needed gum tag myself but i think you will have better results if you will use wax.

i am just a novice and someone with more knowledge will correct me if i'm wrong but i think the edge kote is used as an alternative to burnishing, not part of that process. never used/needed gum tag myself but i think you will have better results if you will use wax.

I've been satisfied with the results of using gum tragacanth and hand burnishing with a Sharpie marker. I apply the gum trag to the edge, and rub it with the side of the marker until smooth. i keep going all the way around the holster doing this. By the time I get back to where I started, the gum is dry enough that I can rub a little harder with the marker to bring the edge to a slick, shiny finish. It takes a little time, but I'm a hobbyist. I'd seek a quicker method were I trying to make a living at it.