Sign in to follow this  
Jaymack

Backgrounding

Hi,

I'm new to leather crafting, but after my first project I have a couple questions.

1. How do you prevent tool marks when backgrounding.

2. What weight mallet do you use for each general tooling procedure. For example, when you basketweave, what weight mallet do you use, or when you bevel or background, what weight do you use. Is there a rule of thumb, especially since I lack any experience.

I've been monitoring all of your work on this forum for a couple weeks before I tackled my first project. This forum has been a huge help. I've seen some amazing examples that in my wildest dreams I never thought could be done with leather!

Thanks for your help!

John

Hi,

I'm new to leather crafting, but after my first project I have a couple questions.

1. How do you prevent tool marks when backgrounding.

2. What weight mallet do you use for each general tooling procedure. For example, when you basketweave, what weight mallet do you use, or when you bevel or background, what weight do you use. Is there a rule of thumb, especially since I lack any experience.

I use a 9 oz mallet for all of it, including the background. Most of what I do is on 3 to 10 oz leather, if that's another factor. Another guy used to do some work for us, used a big (well, I thought it was big) 16 oz mallet (not a maul). Used to "harrass" him a bit... some of the boys called him "Thor" :) Really a matter of personal preference, though, and your tools should leave good impressions as long as your force is consistent and there's a bit of overlap in the strikes.

Hi John,