Colt W Knight

Thread Size Perspective?

Does anyone have any good pictures that puts sewing machine thread into perspective? I am new to leather and sewing, so I don't have a good handle on how big/small different thread sizes are.

I don't have photos handy right now, but I can put leather thread sizes into perspective compared to home sewing thread.

Most home sewing machines are built to use the cotton or polycore threads sold at Walmart, Kmart, Target, Joann Fabrics, etc. The typical number equivalent that makes sense to us would be that those common domestic sewing threads for shirts would be about 1/2 to 2/3 the thickness of the smallest thread commonly used in leather sewing: #b69, or Tex70. The domestic thread would require a #11 or 12 needle. The smallest thread we use (69) requires a #16 or 18 needle.

Strength-wise, domestic cotton thread might break with a good tug of your hands, pulling the ends of the thread in opposite directions. #69 bonded nylon requires 11 pounds pull before it thinks of breaking.

Jeans are usually sewn with what's sold as Jeans thread. It can be had in three sizes, from super thin to quite thick, with #80 being the most common. This is a topstitch thread that is hard to sew on a domestic machine. It requires a #19 needle, at minimum. Domestic needles normally stop at #18. The next size to it in bonded thread is #92 (T90). It has 50% more strength than #69 and requires a #19 or 20 needle. This is a good size for wallets, purses, backpacks and lined belts not exceeding 6 - 8 ounces thickness.

Serious leather sewing begins with #138 bonded thread, using a #23 leather point needle. The breaking strength is 22 pounds pull. I use it to construct rifle slings, guitar straps, pocket holsters, heavier wallets and money belts. Domestic machines cannot sew with this thread under any circumstances. This is also the largest typical thread used in upholstery and in upholstery class walking foot machines.