DianeWood

Setting Spots Help!

Does anyone know how to set spots with a hand setter just like in the picture below? I know how to use the tool but I just don't know how they put the spots over there sewed lines? Thanks, Diane

post-48212-0-50902800-1408555149_thumb.j

Doesn't look like the center is actually over the sewed line. Looks to be just below it. They probably punch holes just below the sewed lines and then punch them down.

Thats what i thought but with that being a thin piece of leather do the spots go all the way through then wat do they do with the prongs because its already sewed together, surely they arent showing on the back side.

Do the tacks stay in the leather properly? I have never used them before.

If you are hammering them into wood then absolutely. When you see antique furniture rotting away...those tacks are still firmly in place.

I have never used them so keep that in mind. I can't imagine they would stay properly without some method of bending the needle back into the leather though.

Just pushing them into leather without some method of securing the needle will not work. I would suggest ordering a bag of them since they are so cheap and just experiment with some scrap leather.

Edited by barehandcustoms