aleejelly

Newbie On The Lookout For A Sewing Machine For Bags

Hi there,

I'm very new to this whole industrial sewing machine thing and I'm hoping that you all can give me some advice.

What I want to do is sew small bags for rock climbing chalk with various weighted materials. Probably light leather, canvas or canvas-like material. Here's a google search to show what they're usually made of: https://www.google.com/search?q=chalkbag&safe=off&rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS503US504&espv=210&es_sm=91&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=sXTIUuv8EofukQe1tICYAQ&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1264&bih=716&dpr=0.9

I want to emboss leather with my logo and then be able to sew them into the bags.

I don't have any major plans to do any extremely heavy duty leather sewing at this time, but I suppose it would be cool not to rule it out.

I have sewn on a straight stitch juki machine 8500 I believe, but I don't remember the motor type or speed.

I was hoping that you all could give me an idea of what kind of machines I should be looking at. I've found a few machines, specifically a Chandler CM406RB that is in my pricerange 400- 700 USD.... I'm also not sure if I could just go with a Juki 8700 and be fine since I'm not really planning on sewing very heavy duty stuff.

There's also this toyota sewing machine that I'm wary of because of the price: http://www.ebay.com/itm/INDUSTRIAL-STRENGTH-Sewing-Machine-HEAVY-DUTY-UPHOLSTERY-LEATHER-WALKING-FOOT-/360828470319

Any advice is welcome!

Look for a walking foot machine. They will give you more opportunities. Light to heavy. The 8700 looks like it can easily handle what you want. Reverse is useful.

Start picking out machines and search here in the main forum to start learning.

Or a normal sewing mssg board, since you are dealing with fabric.

Most of this forum is concerned with leather from light to very heavy weight.

But has a tremendous amount of knowledge here.

I am still learning from here.