Sign in to follow this  
sheowahya

working on a portfolio cover

I have been working on a portfolio cover for almost 8 months .

(yeah I know I'm slow, I'm just a beginner).

I was using the Craftool Adjustable "V" gouge to make the inside fold line.

As you can already guess, I went a little too deep, and right in the middle of it too.

Can anyone suggest a way I can salvage this?

I will be forever grateful. :begging:

Marilyn

hole.BMP

hole.BMP

Bummer!!!!!

So you have learned a rule the hard way. The rule is to do all the construction elements that you possible can before you carve. I usually learn them the hard way myself.

I can't think of a way to fix it where it is so I might cut off the binding part and stitch a new one on. It would just be a slight design change.

David Genadek

I would suggest the same thing David did - cut the binder into three pieces: front, spine, back, and make a new spine to attach to the front and back. Perhaps with a nice overlay on to the front/back, not just right up to the edge. Can't really explain that part well....

Marylin,

Before you cut it into pieces, there may be a couple options. But I need to know what color it is before I recommend what I am going to recommend. It may be workable. Also, can you post a couple pics of the area where it is.

I agree with the Major... Posting some pictures might spark a few ideas on the best way to remedy the problem...

I'd hate for you to lose so much effort...

Thank you SO much everyone for your suggestions.

I appreciate it so much.

Here is a better picture.

It shows the whole middle section from top to bottom,

along with the problem area, which is that UGLY line above the T and the V.

whole_owl2.jpg

post-340-1177442425_thumb.jpg

Ok. First off OUCH. Secondly, nice work (on the rest of the binder).

This is how I see it. and maybe some others can offer some more suggestions.