stelmackr

Free Wheeling Servo Motors For Sewing Machines

Don't know how to really ask this question, so here goes.

I have three sewing machines FERDCO Pro 2000 (a.k.a Juki-441), FERDCO 1245 (a.k.a. Pfaff 1245) and a FERDCO Pro 206h (a.k.a. Consew 206). They all have analog (non-digital) speed setting servo motors. Two of the machines (2000 & 206h) stitch when the pedal is pressed on the toe and stop when the pedal is depressed on the heel of the pedal. When the pedal is not depressed the servo motor stops me from using the hand wheel. The same "locking" of the hand wheel occurs even when the servo motor is turned off. I have to depress the pedal slightly on the toe side to make the hand wheel turn freely. If depress too far--it starts sewing. I was told that this is the way the servo's were designed and mimic the old clutch motors. I am no expert, so I might be wrong here.

But, the third machine (1245) does not lock the hand wheel when I step on the heel of the pedal or when the servo is off. I like this functionality.

OK, OK, now the question(s): "Is there a place to purchase servo motors without the brake action? Can the servo motor be modified or adjusted to remove the brake action? Do digital servo motors have the brake action and can that brake action be removed? Can the brake function be removed buy some mechanical linkage adjustment?"

Bob Stelmack

www.pslac.org

Bob,

I was going to ask this same question. I hate the brake. I have 3 servos and only one has the brake and its on my patcher which I hand wheel a lot. I have a Sewpro 500gr on my Consew and I think it has some sort of brake but it doesn't stop me from hand wheeling it and the motor on my Cowboy 4500 has a digital one that allows me to handwheel it.

All were purchased from Bob at Toledo so he definately has ones without it. I have asked him if there was a way to deactivate it and he didn't seem to know or possibly forgot to answer as I probably asked 5 other questions on the same email.