Sign in to follow this  
filluptieu

Just bought a Singer 15-91! what should I do next? help please

I just purchased a Singer Model 15-91 from ebay. Here are some pictures of it.

371825237.jpg

371825238.jpg

371825236.jpg

I believe that is all it comes with.

Now just to start, I am a novice when it comes to sewing machines, especially setting one up for light leather work. I know how to use a regular sewing machine on cloth and thats about it.

My plans for this machine is to have it sew on a 13 inch zipper to a 3-4 oz piece of leather. And thats a single piece of leather. Maybe even stitch two 4 oz pieces together.

My question as follows:

1) I know with these older machines the grease tends to build up and needs to be clean and regressed, So should I go ahead and take it do a sewing machine shop to have it tuned up?

2) I know I need to buy leather needles but which ones should I be using for the leather work I plan on doing?

3) Whats a good solid thread that wont break easily on me, and is good on leather?

4) Is there any other modifications I should do so that the machine wont completely crap out on me right away?

Thanks Guys! Any advice would be awesome!

Also, what should this thing be worth? and how much would it sell for?

Hi filluptieu, hope all is well. The Singer 15-91 is one of many great sewing machines that Singer made. I didn't see a portable case or cabinet, which you will need to use the machine properly. Your best bet is to take it to a reputable dealer so they can do the work that needs to be done. Depending on how sophisticated the shop is, they should have the correct needles, and thread that you will need. There is a Schmetz leather point needle for home machines and different weight threads as well. You are pusing it though if you want to sew 2 4oz. pieces of leather together, it will do it but for how long? Hope this helps. Thank you, Steve