Graham97

Singer 29-4 What Are Vertical Tension Disks For?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie and I just got an old singer 29-4 shoe repair sewing machine. I've oiled it and threaded it and it's stitching well. I found the manual online and followed the threading steps using the tension disks on the top of the machine.

I just can't figure out what the second extra set of tension disks do. They are mounted directly on front of the operator and vertical compared to the top tension disks which are mounted horizontally. The second tension disks don't need to be used in the normal procedure for threading the upper thread, but there is no mention of what the extra tension discs are for. I'm just curious really. Can anyone help, what are they used for?

The tension discs in the front are used for darning.

Bob

post-7185-0-73237700-1352226902_thumb.jp

Thats true Bob, although its mostly used for spareparts and bobbin winding :rofl:

Trox,how does the bobbin fit on it? :rofl: :rofl:

Trox,how does the bobbin fit on it? :rofl: :rofl:

lots of silicone lube and a half ton jack :rofl:

Hi All,

I'm a newbie and I just got an old singer 29-4 shoe repair sewing machine. I've oiled it and threaded it and it's stitching well. I found the manual online and followed the threading steps using the tension disks on the top of the machine.

I just can't figure out what the second extra set of tension disks do. They are mounted directly on front of the operator and vertical compared to the top tension disks which are mounted horizontally. The second tension disks don't need to be used in the normal procedure for threading the upper thread, but there is no mention of what the extra tension discs are for. I'm just curious really. Can anyone help, what are they used for?

I have a 29-4. If you need any more info, I'll share with you what I have.