Sign in to follow this  
renegadelizard

Gum Trag Resists?

Hey all...i ran into an interesting issue last night...i was making a few western rigs...nothing fancy, no tooling, and for some reason (probably becuase im new to thins and still wet behind the ears), i decided to edge the holsters before spraying with dye..now that i have sprayed it, it looks like i got some gum trag slopped around on the holster and the dyde will not take to it...it looks like poop..well, kind of red when it should be brown, but you get the idea...are these now scrap bin stuffers or is there a way to recover these holsters?

post-30702-097389300 1339067993_thumb.jp

My thought would be to deglaze the area and try to redye it. It looks like you used a air brush. If so that will make it easier for touch ups. Dont try this until someone else chimes in. I could be totally wrong. Or make a test piece and try that first.

As you now know. Gum trag last. :head_hurts_kr:

I've done this before... Gum Trag is not my friend. Honestly, I don't think I'll use it again.

I've done this before... Gum Trag is not my friend. Honestly, I don't think I'll use it again.

i tried to vinegaroon the edges and then fade in with black dye....fail...then vinegrooned the entire thing...its black but you can still see a gloss difference where i tried to fade in with the black dye...so, they will become knife sheaths and other small little pieces....back to cutting and awl punching,....grrr...henceforth, gum trag is a foul word in my house...

I've taken to burnishing with water only or water, soap, and wax. It works well IMO. I finally settled on a wax that I melted together; 50/50 beeswax and paraffin. I generally have problems getting burnished edges to take vinagroon. But I burnished with just water tonight and the groon took just fine. One more lesson learned. I'll let them dry then wax and burnish again. I'm hoping they turn out as nice as I think they will.