barbiesdude

New Cowboy 4500

Two weeks ago I was blessed beyond belief, when I was able to purchase a new Cowboy 4500 from Toledo Inds. I am a total sewing newb other than my Boss Tippmann short time experiences. I live in MI and made the 3 1/2 hr drive down to pick it up. Bob gave me a crash course in running the machine and took his time in answering all my newbie questions. Great experience! If your looking at stepping up a level or want to do it right the first time, I would highly reccomend buying a machine from Bob Kovar at Toledo Industrial.

Jamie

I've had mine for a year now and I'm getting better with it all the time but it helps to use it on a steady basis if you can.

The only thing I don't care for is the large opening in the plate .

It would be ideal if they had an optional plate with a smaller opening and a small feed dog to go with it.

I am curious what extras come with the Cowboy 4500 compared to the Cobra Class 4P?... I am pretty sure I have narrowed down my choice to either one of these.

If I could only find a used one!

The feed dogs can be lowered or removed. A narrow slot plate can be made to fit the machine. Wiz has this machine and I am sure he has a narrow slot plate for his. It may be an accessory Bob Kovar has in stock. I have a slotted for my Consew but not for the Seiko Cylinder Arm. Biggest advantage to the slotted plate is the nice smooth backside of the stitching. Gets a little tricky in some leathers without a feed dog.

ferg

My CB4500 came with the accessories package that includes a flat slotted throat plate. I removed the feed dog and installed the flat plate. I have to compensate for the changes in stitch length, using the stitch length lever. I find that it is more difficult to get the reverse stitches to hit the same holes as before, so I feather the stitch lever a bit to compensate.