Young Gun

Swivel Knife Tips And Tricks

Hi All,

So, I am very new to leather crafting, and with most new comers the fist big hurdle for me has been to hone the skills for using my swivel knife. I have been playing around with different moisture of my leather and buffing and sharpening my blade. But I still can't seem to get my desired look. some of the things that I was hoping to get some help with were: ways to help me keep the knife perpendicular, types of blades people use, what people do to sharpen their blade, best moister content of the leather for the knife. Any of other tips are more than welcome!!

7/1/11

Hi Young Gun,

I've only taken the basic Tandy classes, and that was over a year ago. Since I've forgotten some of the things that I learned, I was recently trying to remember exactly these questions that you've raised here. I'm so glad to see that you've posted, as you are not the only one who is 'new to leather crafting', but wanting to get off to a better start than just using the 'trial and error' method. So, I hope that someone experienced will talk to us about moisture content for using the swivel knife. Also, I've seen sandpaper mentione in regard to the edges, and I'd like to hear more about this. - TexasLady

Make a small investment (besides a contribution to this site), go by your local Tandy or the internet site. Purchase the 'leatherworking manual' and read it. It will answer all of your questions you raised. As for different blades, I recall a recent thread exactly like this one involving blades. Conduct your search (top right hand corner).

Good luck.