Sign in to follow this  
badLoveLeather

Reducer?

I was discussing sewing machines with a leather worker in Cottonwood AZ this past weekend and he told me about an attachment called a Reducer I could get for my Singer 111 to make it slower.

I'm new to using this machine and its powerful and fast. I've been practicing with the pedal and trying to get a groove goin but its too fast.

Does anyone know about this possible solution?

Thanks in Advance

Travis Poole

Bad Love Leather

A speed reducer is a pulley system which will cut your speed usually in half depending on the sizes of the pulleys.

A better choice is a servo motor. A speed reducer costs about $100 while a servo motor costs from say $120 to $150 for a decent but inexpensive one. The servo motor gives you true variable speed control from 0 to the motor's max speed.

With a clutch motor, except for the friction zone you are basically in an all or nothing mode relative to speed. Even at a reduced speed you get all of it or none of it. There is a fine zone where you can "control" the speed and that is the friction zone. It is a very small area of pedal depression and is not reliable for fine work. I used to grab the flywheel and cause the belt to slip to slow the machine down for fine work. Also not a really good way to do things. When I got a servo motor, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. It was the best move in sewing that I ever made.

Hope that helps. Check Artisan's website for several servo motors that you could use.

:red_bandana::red_bandana::red_bandana: