Sign in to follow this  
pete

Craftool high-tech splitter with the 6"blade

I just purchased the Craftool high-tech splitter with the 6"blade. So far I am really happy with it but never having used one before I need help before I start another belt.

I want to split the tip and buckle ends and don't want to mess up.

What is the best way to set up the splitter as far as the roller bar adjustment goes.

I have the thickness dialed in but if I don't hold the standing part right it skives it immediately to nothing!

Are you supposed to hold the standing part level, down or up when pulling the strap? And should the strap pass over the bar level or at a slant(up/down)?

Please- someone out there help.

By the way this is a really neat splitter and for $159.00 it fits my needs(I think!)

in your debt(s)

pea-aire'

by the way- I noticed that there are a lot of players out there. I'm a frustrated jazz guitarist so I had a tele and Les Paul

5 string elec. Mandolins made in the 70's. I play swing and jazz mandolin with a killer keyboardist and bass player.

I'll post the pictures if anyone is interested on the off topic board.

-p-

Hello. If you have the thickness set and it is not splitting evenly it may be the sharpness of the blade.

YES - I know it's new, but remember these blades are 'factory' sharp. Spend a little time honing and polishing

the blade as you would with any blade. It makes a world of difference. As to setting the thickness, save a piece split

the thickness you want so that you can just set it in and match the gap. I just use a piece of cardboard that seems about right.

peace.

Appreciate you response ( I can't belive that you are the only one out there who knows how to set up a splitter. Either that or I've been banned from this site for my comments about eco-dyes!)

If you can't elaborate then could someone please give more information on setting up the splitter regarding the roller height

pete

Pete,