Sign in to follow this  
Jarl

First attempt at carving

Hey everyone! Not sure if this is the right spot for this one but... :dunno:

Well its from the tandy motorcycle accessory pattern pack that i picked up this morning. Decided that i would practice/try to carve something and this is what happened. Any help would be welcome as I would like to get better but dont really have a teacher other than what I read around here on the forums and various other sites and a book by stohlman.

-Jesse

Carving-Rose_011208_10.jpg

I can't help you much. I am a newbie to leather tooling myself. I just wanted to Welcome you. The people here are very, very helpful.

Jesse, So far so good, Don't be afraid to add more backgrounding. Your cuts are good depth and clean. When photographing use a regular old fashioned light bulb and place the light off to one side. That will create better shadows and show your work off better. It will also give your work a nice warm glow. Remember Carving is not easy but with every project you get MUCH better! Nice work!

Jesse,

Nice work. It looks much better than my first carving. You will notice the differences in the next carving you attempt. One thing I noticed is beveling. You should define your bevel edges a little better. This will help the definition sort of "pop" off the page. I've never tried a backgrounding tool around the perimeter of a single carving like that. That gives a nice effect. I would try to recarve the same thing and use a beveler around the perimeter and see which you like best. You would probably get more responses if you posted this in the Critique my work section.

Good luck and happy carving.

Marlon